The Year of Not Sleeping (7)

Signs of spring! Not in the photograph, which is of Little Switzerland, a caravan/camping park in Folkestone, but in my street, where the cherry blossom suddenly appeared last week. The poet A.E.Housman has a not-undeserved reputation as a miserable git-

Some can gaze and not be sick,

But I could never learn the trick.

There’s this to say for blood and breath,

They give a man a taste for death.

____

but he was pretty cheerful about cherry blossom

____

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now

Is hung with bloom along the bough,

And stands about the woodland ride

Wearing white for Eastertide.

____

Now, of my threescore years and ten,

Twenty will not come again,

And take from seventy springs a score,

It only leaves me fifty more.

____

And since to look at things in bloom

Fifty springs are little room,

About the woodlands I will go

To see the cherry hung with snow.

____

74 words, and perfect.

I wrote this in either 2016 or 2017. I suppose if you think of things you consider beautiful, concrete would be at the opposite end of the spectrum to cherry blossom. This is about how we come to like the things we like, whether they be natural things, made things, or art.

Large Concrete Structure

The cherry blossom tells us Spring has come

The cherry blossom tells us Spring has come

There are necessary hormones, rising sap

Come, sit beneath the blossom while it lasts

____

As pretty as a picture you were then

You were as pretty as a picture then

And because you can only think of time as passing

You took a photograph I still possess

____

But I remember it better than yesterday

I remember it better than I remember yesterday

You beneath the blossom at our picnic

Plump with youth and promise in the Spring

____

Here, there is memory and place and no anger

We knew no anger then

We had no reason

Rage came later, for no good reason

For no reason at all

____

But here, there is memory and place and no anger

There were ponies

We were dare-devils, climbing trees

As high as the lowest branch

____

And then those shiny boots, the click and clack

You heard before you saw them

Then rage had its season

____

The speed of change comes quickly

The blossom grows, goes quickly

One year the picture of you under the blossom

The next an abstract of something that might be blossom

Your departure not even hinted at

Your presence not even hidden

____

I look for you in this large concrete structure

I take for a work of art; a structure

That once had use, though no longer;

Not these days. It is labelled Large Concrete Structure

And I admire it more, these days,

Than the lovely cherry blossom in the Spring

—-

And here is a more recent piece.

Urban Myth

the day the alligator poked up in the toilet bowl

was the day my mother died

and my lover left me

and my boss fired me

and I fell for a credit card scam

as a result of which

I got so drunk that I got into a fight

and my nose was broken

and the suit I was wearing was ruined

and when I finally got home

I had lost my keys

and Joanna wasn’t there to let me in

I don’t blame the alligator for any of this

the alligator is the least of my worries

Leave a comment